Chargers Official Sponsor

Girls Varsity Swimming · Powers Catholic High School Girls Varsity Swimming beat Brandon High School 109-66

Thursday, October 20, 2016

6:00 PM

Powers Catholic High School

Brandon High School

Meet Recap

Sarah Kirtek and Allie Dasky each had two individual wins as the Chargers swamped Brandon 109-66. Sydney Lawrence, Julia DesRoberts, and Rylie Dunigan also won individual events, and Powers swept the relay events at Brandon in the final dual meet of the season Thursday evening.

The team of Hannah Murawski (Back), Sarah Kirtek (Breast), Sydney Lawrence (Fly), and Sarah Adams (Free) kicked off the night with a 7-second margin of victory over the Blackhawk’s best in the 200 Medley Relay (2:13.80). Allie Dasky followed that by winning the 200 Free (2:06.28) by more than 28 seconds. One event later, Dasky (27.18) and Chargers teammate Sydney Lawrence took the top two spots in the 50 Free.

The second half of the meet was equally impressive for Powers. Sarah Kirtek (1:06.42) and teammate Sophia VanTol finished one-two in the 100 Butterfly. Sydney Lawrence followed with a victory in the 100 Free (59.64), and Julia DesRoberts followed Lawrence’s performance with a win of her own in the 500 Free (6:49.61).

Following the 500, DesRoberts walked right back to the starting blocks and teamed up with Emma Brock, Abbey Clothier, and Dasky to win the 200 Free Relay (2:01.17). Rylie Dunigan (1:21.34) and Haley Mazurek followed with another one-two finish for the Chargers in the 100 Backstroke. Sarah Kirtek then performed her own “DesRoberts” in the final two events of the night. Kirtek first won the 100 Breaststroke (1:18.33), and then walked right back to the blocks to team up with Dasky, Lawrence, and Kristin Ammerman to win the 400 Free Relay (3:58.69) in one of the team’s fastest times of the year.

The team will be working hard over the next two weeks to get ready for the Saginaw Valley League Championships which will be held at Saginaw Valley State University. Sarah Kirtek will be defending her two Conference Championships (Butterfly and Breaststroke) from 2015, while other team members and relay teams will be attempting to qualify for the Division 3 State Championships which will be held in Holland.